U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


Who are Recipients?


U.S. Department of Justice implementing regulations for Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (Title VI), 28 C.F.R. § 42.102, define the terms "federal financial assistance" and "recipient."  These definitions are also in the Title VI implementing regulations of other federal agencies.  When an agency provides federal financial assistance, it must ensure that applicants and recipients acknowledge and agree to comply (and require any sub-grantees, contractors, successors, transferees, and assignees to comply) with applicable provisions of federal civil rights laws and policies prohibiting discrimination, including, but not limited to, Title VI, which prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, or national origin, including limited English proficiency.

Recipients of Federal Financial Assistance

The websites below can help identify whether a non-federal entity is a recipient or sub-recipient of federal financial assistance from one or more federal agencies. 

Office of Management and Budget, USA Spending.gov

Institute of Museum and Library Services, Awarded Grant Search

National Science Foundation, About Awards

U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Program, Grant Awards

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Tracking Accountability in Government Grants System

Grant Reporting by Recipients

Recipients must report grants received from the federal government pursuant to the Single Audit Act and OMB Circular A-133.  This database is searchable by entity and yields information about specific grants and grant amounts received, among other things. The Single Audit Database is available from this page.